top of page

Throwback Taste of the Month: Rediscover Classic Food Pairings!


This month, we're diving into a nostalgic culinary journey that pairs perfectly with your next read! Imagine savoring the rich flavors of Galinhada, a traditional Brazilian chicken and rice dish, while sipping on a refreshing Caipirinha, Brazil's beloved cocktail. As you indulge in this delightful duo, why not also get lost in the pages of "The Worst Best Man" by Mia Sosa? This heartwarming and hilarious romance will keep you entertained, much like the vibrant flavors dancing on your palate. So, grab your book, prepare your feast, and enjoy this perfect pairing that promises a memorable throwback experience!


Pairings: Get ready to elevate your month with this delightful trio that promises to tantalize your taste buds and captivate your imagination:


Overview:


Mia Sosa delivers a sassy, steamy #ownvoices enemies-to-lovers novel, perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory, Helen Hoang, and Sally Thorne!

A wedding planner left at the altar? Yeah, the irony isn't lost on Carolina Santos, either. But despite that embarrassing blip from her past, Lina's offered an opportunity that could change her life. There's just one hitch...she has to collaborate with the best (make that worst) man from her own failed nuptials.

Marketing expert Max Hartley is determined to make his mark with a coveted hotel client looking to expand its brand. Then he learns he'll be working with his brother's whip-smart, stunning - absolutely off-limits - ex-fiancée. And she loathes him. If they can nail their presentation without killing each other, they'll both come out ahead. Except Max has been public enemy number one ever since he encouraged his brother to jilt the bride, and Lina's ready to dish out a little payback of her own.

Soon Lina and Max discover animosity may not be the only emotion creating sparks between them. Still, this star-crossed couple can never be more than temporary playmates because Lina isn't interested in falling in love and Max refuses to play runner-up to his brother ever again....



Ingredients


3/4 of a freshly cut lime

2 oz cachaça

1 oz simple syrup

Ice


Instructions:


Cut the lime into quarters. Muddle three of the quarters against the side of an old-fashioned glass. Before adding the rest of the ingredients, be sure you position the wedges peel-side-down in the glass.

Add the simple syrup and stir/muddle some more.

Add the ice (traditionally cubed, not crushed), pour on the liquor, and stir.



Ingredients


2 lbs boneless skinless chicken thighs about 4-5 thighs (or skin-on, bone-in if you prefer)

2 teaspoons salt

½ teaspoon black ground pepper

½ teaspoon ground cumin

½ cup hot water

5 saffron threads

2 tablespoon olive oil

1 small white onion small diced

1 large green bell pepper small diced

4 cloves garlic minced

2 cups parboiled white rice long-grain

½ cup white wine. 3 cups chicken broth

1 teaspoon tomato paste

1 bay leaf

3 large diced tomatoes skin and seeds removed (or about 1 cup canned diced tomatoes, drained)

¾ cup fresh or frozen peas

½ lemon

2 tablespoon green onions chopped.


Instructions:


Take the chicken thighs out of the fridge about 30 minutes before cooking to ensure even cooking. Season them with a mixture of salt, pepper, and cumin, rubbing well on both sides. Let rest at room temperature for those 30 minutes. Then, add saffron threads to the hot water and let it steep for 30 minutes.


Meanwhile, dice and chop the vegetables. Reserve. Heat a large nonstick pan over medium-high heat, add 2 tablespoon of oil and sear the chicken thighs, skin side down (or top of the thighs side down), for 3-4 minutes without moving or until skin is golden. Flip chicken to the other side and cook for another 3-4 minutes.


Transfer thighs to a plate and reserve. Remove excess oil/grease (leave about 1 tbsp). Meanwhile, add and cook the onion and bell pepper over medium heat for about 3-4 minutes, or until onion is soft. Add garlic and cook for 1 minute. Then add the rice and sauté for about 1-2 minutes, stirring every now and then.


Add the wine and let almost evaporate about 2 minutes. Stir in the steeped saffron, the broth, the tomato paste, and the bay leaf. Transfer the chicken back to the pan, nestling them on top of the rice. Let come to a boil!


Then cover the pan with a lid and let cook over medium heat for 10-15 minutes or until chicken is cooked and rice is al dente. The rice will absorb the liquids. About 3 minutes before the end of this cooking time, add the diced tomatoes and the peas, cover, and let it cook. Right before serving, squeeze lemon over the thighs and add the chopped.


Conclusion:


As you turn the last page of "The Worst Best Man" and savor the final bites of Galinhada, all while enjoying the refreshing zest of a Caipirinha, you'll find yourself truly immersed in this unforgettable experience. This perfect blend of literature and cuisine not only offers a throwback to classic flavors but also provides a heartwarming escape from the everyday hustle. So, let this month's pairing be a reminder to take a moment for yourself, indulge in delicious food, and get lost in a great story.


Cheers to rediscovering the simple joys in life!

6 views0 comments

Commentaires


Spread your passion with our community of loyal readers who love books, food, and travel.

AGR Book Club exists to connect readers to creators that curate a memorable experience inspired by the stories told in books. If you would like to share a dish or wine derived from a book or are the author of a fiction book that takes you on unforgettable adventure, let's talk.